Discuss | Edit | Feed


Catalog Number N/A
Release Date Nov 2020
Publish Format Doujin/Indie
Release Price 70.00 USD
Media Format Vinyl
Classification Arrangement
OrganizationsJ-MUSIC Ensemble
This album has been delayed. The release date is subject to change.


Composer / Shoji Meguro /
Arranger / Patrick Bartley, Khrys Williams
Performer / J-MUSIC Ensemble, Mohmega, Sapphire, Karlea Lynné, Ruby Choi, Kento Iwasaki, Norman Edwards, Adam Neely
Lyricist / Benjamin Franklin


Disc 1

01 Life Will Change [feat. Mohmega]
02 Wake Up, Get Up, Get Out There [feat. Sapphire]
03 Last Surprise [feat. Karlea Lynné & Ruby Choi]
04 Tokyo Emergency
05 King, Queen, and Slave
06 What's Going On?
07 Butterfly Kiss
08 A Woman [feat. Kento Iwasaki]
09 Price [feat. Norman Edwards]
10 Life Goes On [feat. Adam Neely]
11 The Days When My Mother Was There
12 Layer Cake
13 Beneath the Mask [feat. Ruby Choi]



From Bandcamp page:

"The long awaited and highly anticipated album has finally arrived - our Persona 5 Jazz tribute, "METAGROOVE"! Nearly 3 years ago, we set out on a journey to not only explore the music of Persona 5, but bring out the true potential of this music. The world of Persona 5 challenges its characters to dig into the deepest parts of themselves and face their fears, and from this place comes the most powerful manifestations of their souls. This is no different from what it means to play jazz - and we took this concept to expound further on the brilliant ideas that composer Shoji Meguro laid down for us to call from today.

In addition to the all-star cast of the J-MUSIC Ensemble band, this album features a conclave of some of the world's greatest multi-genre musicians to create the best music possible: Sapphire, Mohmega, Adam Neely, Jonah Moss, Kento Iwasaki, Karlea Lynné, and Ruby Choi. Of course, no great tribute to Persona 5 would be without homage to its artwork. It's our honor to present the beautiful, provocative, and ground-breaking album artwork created by one of the greatest Persona artists in the world: blazpu! We have truly become "Persona-fied" with his rendition of us in the world of Persona, as the de facto band of the Phantom Thieves.

This entire project would not be possible in the slightest without the help of our generous backers over on Indiegogo. If you're reading this right now, we want to thank you all so much, from the bottom of our hearts, for allowing us to produce and deliver our passion to the world. Your undying love and support has kept us going through the toughest of times, and we promise from here on out, we'll continue to deliver nothing but the best music we can possibly make, and beyond. We truly hope you enjoy this album as much as we enjoyed making it!"

J-MUSIC Ensemble:
Patrick Bartley - Alto Saxophone
Max Boiko - Trumpet
Toby Ekpunobi - Trombone
Khrys Williams - MIDI Synth, Rap, Percussion
Sean Richey - Guitar
Matt Wong - Nord Keyboard, Fender Rhodes
Brad Miller - Electric Bass
Jongkuk "JK" Kim - Drums

Mohmega - Lead Guitar (Track 1)
Sapphire - Vocal (Track 2)
Karlea Lynné - Vocal
Ruby Choi - Vocal
Jonah Moss - Trumpet (Track 2, 3)
Adam Neely - Bass
Norman Edwards - Drums
Kento Iwasaki - Koto

Artwork - blazpu (

Nolan Thies - Recording/Mixing Engineer
Dev Avidon - Mastering Engineer
Executive Producer - Patrick Bartley

Recorded on October 8, 2019 and October 9, 2019 at Bunker Studios in Brooklyn, NY.

Album Stats

Contained in 1 collections
Contained in 3 wish lists
Platforms represented
Sony PlayStation 3, Sony PlayStation 4

Available at



Related Albums

P5 8BIT-8069

Aug 12, 2020 05:46 AM
Jan 1, 2021 04:29 AM
Page traffic
490 visitors
- freedb
Page built in
0 seconds