Discuss | Edit

Little Inferno Original Soundtrack

Catalog Number N/A
Release Date Dec 13, 2012
Publish Format Commercial
Release Price Free
Media Format Digital
Classification Original Soundtrack
OrganizationsTomorrow Corporation


Composer / Kyle Gabler


Disc 1

01 Little Inferno Titles 1:18
02 Miss Nancy Welcomes You 1:05
03 Your New Friend Sugar Plumps 0:32
04 Reporting From the Weather Balloon 2:40
05 Just Like You 0:37
06 8 Bit Inferno 0:09
07 Something to Tell You 1:26
08 Inferno Beta 0:16
09 Cardboard Sword 0:07
10 Up Up Up the Chimney 1:09
11 Incident on the Other Side of the Wall 0:48
12 Transhumanist Connects 0:20
13 Ooo It's so Bright! 0:57
14 The City 3:03
15 Gate Operator, Open the Gates! 1:07
16 Productivity Tango 0:56
17 Miss Nancy Remembers 1:10
18 The City Limits 1:34
19 Breaking Weather Report 1:02
20 Over the Smokestacks, Over the City 1:17
21 Little Inferno Just For Me 1:27
22 Tomorrow Corporation, the Future is Tomorrow! 0:04
Disc length 23:04



Track Notes

1. Little Inferno Titles
Little Inferno is a quiet introverted art project masquerading as a loud extroverted shopping game. For a long time, we weren’t sure which face of the game to portray in the opening sequence, but eventually decided on this one.

2. Miss Nancy Welcomes You
Miss Nancy is large, warm, and smells like cinnamon. She’s like a nice fluffy couch that you can’t climb your way out of. We’ll hear this melody again, twisted up, in “Gate Operator, Open the Gates!” and “Miss Nancy Remembers”.

3. Your New Friend Sugar Plumps
The Sugar Plumps tracks were some of the most difficult to write. She’s a character that’s supposed to be, initially, totally vacant. Players are supposed to disregard her as a lame NPC sending you useless letters, like in Animal Crossing. But as the game progresses, she becomes more and more aware of her (and your) situation. I needed a melody that could withstand the transition along with her character, throughout each of her four tracks.

4. Reporting from the Weather Balloon
The Weatherman, everyone’s favorite character! There’s a reason his theme is the same as the game’s theme (with different instrumentation).

5. Just Like You
Sugar Plumps track 2.

6. 8-Bit Inferno

7. Something to Tell You
Sugar Plumps track 3.

8. Inferno Beta

9. Cardboard Sword
Musical effects for items were fun to write because the stakes were so low and nobody cared if they sucked. A relief, compared to the thought and hand wringing that the other tracks required. This one took only a minute or two to create!

10. Up Up Up the Chimney
Sugar Plumps track 4. Still her melody and instruments, but over different chords, and with the beginning part flipped vertically, sort of?

11. Incident on the Other Side of the Wall

12. Transhumanist Connects

13. Ooo It’s so Bright!
A mystery character, staring at the Tomorrow Corporation sun logo. “Is it rising or is it setting?!” The upcoming Tomorrow Corporation “Gates” sequence is teased here.

14. The City

15. Gate Operator, Open the Gates!

16. Productivity Tango
Music for folks who like to make spreadsheets, check things off lists, and tango by the book.

17. Miss Nancy Remembers
Miss Nancy was on a similar journey as the player, and this is her turn to do what the player is in the process of doing. So it needed to be adorably flamboyant, in her style, with her melody. Listen carefully – my handsome and talented boyfriend is on cello! It’s the only real instrument used in any of the tracks.

18. The City Limits
The main theme, minimal version.

19. Breaking Weather Report

20. Over the Smokestacks, Over the City

21. Little Inferno Just For Me
Little Inferno has always been a difficult game to describe, so we knew we needed a short, simple way of communicating what it was all about. This old timey jingle is the result. Kyle Gray’s friend Travis Hill provided the perfect “narrator” voice, with a welcome bit of Phil Hartman smarm.

22. Tomorrow Corporation, the Future is Tomorrow!
Also used as the Wii U version startup sound.

Album Stats

Contained in 38 collections
Contained in 0 wish lists
Products represented
Little Inferno
Platforms represented
Nintendo Wii U, PC

Available at

Related Albums

No related albums found.

Dec 23, 2012 05:38 AM
Dec 18, 2013 08:23 PM
Page traffic
2323 visitors
3 freedb
Page built in
0.02 seconds