VGMdb
Go Back   VGMdb Forums > VGMdb Site Related > Questions and Comments
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 8, 2007, 10:52 AM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default VGMdb Alpha Bug Reports

Please let me know if you find any errors or issues. We should be back to where we were a few months ago.
  #2  
Old Aug 13, 2007, 12:56 PM
neothe0ne neothe0ne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default

When I submitted album info, it was immediately added into the database. Not sure if staff are supposed to review it to approve it before it's added or not.
  #3  
Old Aug 13, 2007, 01:12 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neothe0ne View Post
When I submitted album info, it was immediately added into the database. Not sure if staff are supposed to review it to approve it before it's added or not.
It will always appear immediately, but the modification is still provisional until a staff member approves it.
  #4  
Old Aug 20, 2007, 03:20 PM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Here are some thoughts/ideas of things I've come across. I'm sorry if some of these things have already been mentioned:

1. Editing tracklists or covers doesn't effect the 'edited by' field.

There might be more things apart from these two as well.

2. Tracktimes don't move over automatically when adding a new tracklist using the 'text block' feature.

When adding a second tracklist it would be helpful if the tracktimes from the previous tracklist (assuming there are tracktimes listed) were added automatically.

3. Credit is given to approving staff member and not the user who made the entry/edit

Not so much an issue now as when the database opens for registration though.

4. Switching between tracklists without reloading the entire page.

It would be neat if this was made possible.

5. Only one space between words on a line.

This is in regards to the Notes field where formating is pretty limited due to this. Take this entry and compare with what you see in the CMS as an example of what I mean. Not a big deal perhaps, but still (:
  #5  
Old Aug 20, 2007, 03:33 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Hey, Seanne. Thanks for the suggestions. We'll definitely make a note of these.
Quote:
1. Editing tracklists or covers doesn't effect the 'edited by' field.
Tracklist and Cover editing haven't been implemented for the site yet. I think we'll want to have seperate 'edited by' fields for both tracklists and scans.

Quote:
2. Tracktimes don't move over automatically when adding a new tracklist using the 'text block' feature.
I agree. We'll need to think of a good way to implement this.

Quote:
3. Credit is given to approving staff member and not the user who made the entry/edit
Only in the CMS. This is fixed on the site (well, the behavior will still be a little unoptimal until we bring the moderation controls over to VGMdb.) http://www.vgmdb.net/audio/vgmdb-recent.php

Quote:
4. Switching between tracklists without reloading the entire page.
I don't think this is possible the way we do it now. This is a good idea, but it's for the back burner for now.

Quote:
5. Only one space between words on a line.
I'm sure there's a way to do this; we'll just have to figure it out.
  #6  
Old Aug 20, 2007, 04:17 PM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Tracklist and Cover editing haven't been implemented for the site yet. I think we'll want to have seperate 'edited by' fields for both tracklists and scans.
Yeah, I just noticed editing tracklists isn't possible. This was really based on my experiences with earlier versions.

Quote:
Only in the CMS. This is fixed on the site (well, the behavior will still be a little unoptimal until we bring the moderation controls over to VGMdb.) http://www.vgmdb.net/audio/vgmdb-recent.php
Nice. That looks good.
  #7  
Old Aug 29, 2007, 01:38 PM
neothe0ne neothe0ne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default

When I submitted a new album today, I received a page not found error. Also, on the "Submissions System" page, the update wasn't reflected, but when I went to "Recent Updates", I found that the album submissions actually went through, hence a duplicate entry.

Also, while we're on the subject of that album (Legend of Xanadu Arrange KLEENE), the album art can be found on the website (http://www2.odn.ne.jp/puchi/photo/kleene.jpg)
  #8  
Old Aug 29, 2007, 01:47 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Thanks for the report. I fixed the error (which prevented the album from going into the queue) so everything should be fine now. I'll delete the duplicate.
  #9  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 11:51 AM
Free.User's Avatar
Free.User Free.User is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Default

When modifying an album, I'm getting this error:
http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/686...aseerrozc5.png

Am I correct in saying that tracklist addition and editing is not yet functional through the VGMdb front-end?

Also, not a huge issue, but when a Staff member submits and album, they see the "Staff will be reviewing it shortly" box. While it bypasses the moderation queue just fine, it just feels that the message is a rather out of place.

EDIT: Just noticed another thing: I went to an album's edit page, but didn't do any modifications. However, I still get credit for doing a modification on the Staff Activity Log.

Last edited by Free.User; Aug 30, 2007 at 11:55 AM.
  #10  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 12:18 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

What were you doing when you got that message? Was it tracklist related? I'll be working on tracklists soon, but until then, it's probably better to submit tracklists through the CMS.

I should be able to fix the other problems tonight.
  #11  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 12:40 PM
Free.User's Avatar
Free.User Free.User is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Default

If you are referring to that white error page, I received it when I was trying to add quotation marks in an album's 'Notes' field.
  #12  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 12:52 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Okay, i'll look into that. I can't remember if we were able to do that in the past, but it's something we should be able to do.
  #13  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 04:22 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Free.User -- Can you give me the exact string you were trying to use? Quotes are working fine for me.

Seanne -- For the notes field, I substituted nbsp's for the spaces, so now you can have multiple spaces. Play around with that some, and let me know how you feel about it. We might want to switch to a monospace font to make things line up.

-----------------------------------------

Fixed
  • "Staff will be reviewing it shortly" box shouldn't show for staff edits. [Free.User]
  • Staff edits were still logging to the recent updates queue, even when there was no edit. [Free.User]
  • Credit is given to approving staff member and not the user who made the entry or edit [Seanne]

Pending
  • Error when using Quotes in Notes Field. [Free.User]
  • Only one space between words on a line. [Seanne]

Active Issues
  • Editing tracklists or covers doesn't affect the 'edited by' field. [Seanne]
  • Tracktimes don't move over automatically when adding a new tracklist using the 'text block' feature. [Seanne]
  • Switching between tracklists without reloading the entire page. [Seanne]
  #14  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 04:59 PM
Free.User's Avatar
Free.User Free.User is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Free.User -- Can you give me the exact string you were trying to use? Quotes are working fine for me.
On this album's page, I was trying to change the album's notes field to the following (with changes in red):

This soundtrack was released as a free download on 2K's "Cult of Rapture" website.


EDIT: Now that I fiddle around, it seems to give me that error no matter what I do to that particular album.

Last edited by Free.User; Aug 30, 2007 at 05:05 PM.
  #15  
Old Aug 30, 2007, 05:28 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

That's because I was doing some debugging.

Anyway, the problem is fixed. It was actually the Staff Notes field where I'd forgotten to replace special characters.
  #16  
Old Aug 31, 2007, 05:02 AM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
Seanne -- For the notes field, I substituted nbsp's for the spaces, so now you can have multiple spaces. Play around with that some, and let me know how you feel about it. We might want to switch to a monospace font to make things line up.
It seems lines don't come out exactly as you enter them. One or two extra spaces seems to be necessary, but it's not really a big deal I think, just takes a few edits for it to come out right. Also seems like getting straight lines is impossible in some cases (notepad style). This is a lot better than before though, thanks
  #17  
Old Aug 31, 2007, 07:27 AM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

I played around a little bit with Monospace fonts (Courier New, Lucida Console), but I really didn't like how any of them looked. If anyone knows of a good one, please let me know.
  #18  
Old Aug 31, 2007, 10:19 AM
Kaleb.G's Avatar
Kaleb.G Kaleb.G is offline
VGMdb Staff
VGM Artist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
I played around a little bit with Monospace fonts (Courier New, Lucida Console), but I really didn't like how any of them looked. If anyone knows of a good one, please let me know.
You really don't have much else to choose from. It's all limited by the client PC's font list, and those are the only two widespread monospace fonts that I know of. For the record, "Consolas" is pretty good, but I think that only comes with Windows Vista and/or Office 2007.
  #19  
Old Aug 31, 2007, 02:21 PM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

I agree that it didn't look very good with a different font only for that field (I spotted the Courier New). It's really fine the way it is now
  #20  
Old Aug 31, 2007, 06:41 PM
neothe0ne neothe0ne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default

I don't know if this was already mentioned, but it hasn't been fixed:

After one submits a tracklist, you get redirected to a page that doesn't exist. I know it was fixed for submitting a new album, but tracklists weren't.
  #21  
Old Sep 1, 2007, 06:10 AM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

Yeah, Tracklist Submission is the next big thing for me to work on.
  #22  
Old Sep 2, 2007, 06:02 AM
Free.User's Avatar
Free.User Free.User is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Default

This isn't so much a bug, but rather a trivial idea.

Would it be possible to have a "Total Album Duration" field on each tracklist? Albums with multiple discs have disc durations, but not an overall duration of the album.
  #23  
Old Sep 6, 2007, 06:10 AM
Myrkul's Avatar
Myrkul Myrkul is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: France
Posts: 2,881
Default

Hail there

I just tested a few things, at least all i could do, everything sounds fine to me.

One thing i noticied but i don't know if it's on purpose or not at the moment, but the redirection link for collection while you browse 1 album does not work.
( the "Contained in xx collections" ), it's used to browse who got the title in their collection but it does not work for now.

It's kinda weird to post the tracklist after you posted the album, i was afraid when i saw the empty tracklist information, i realised i could edit it after that..

Maybe you could modify the forms to add tracklists and covers at the same time? Page 1 is catalog, Page 2 is informations, Page 3 tracklist ?

Other than that, it looks awesome and it's just a matter a tweaking now..

I wish i could add scans since i got Gigs for them
  #24  
Old Sep 6, 2007, 06:19 AM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

I think that the collections link is something that'll come a little later, once the core stuff is done. It's a pretty easy page to make.

We could redirect to the trackist page, instead of the album display. I'd like to hear what more people think about that change, first.

I'll get the scan validation queue working tonight, and then you'll be able to upload scans.
  #25  
Old Sep 7, 2007, 07:18 AM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

I have a faint memory that I brought this up once in the past, but perhaps we need a new classification that can be used for 'Works' albums? There really isn't a satisfactory one at the moment.

edit: Another thing. Actually it's about spacing again. Would it be possible to make it so that you can have more than one space in between letters in tracklists as well? While not all that many track titles feature multiple spaces, it happens every now and then after all.

edit2: Seems like an entry in the Notes field can't begin with (a) space(s).

Last edited by seanne; Sep 8, 2007 at 07:25 AM.
  #26  
Old Sep 9, 2007, 05:34 AM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Something I noticed in regards to the "moving over" of tracktimes from one tracklist to another. If you set the second tracklist as default, the one for which the tracktimes have simply been moved over, you'll end up with no tracktimes at all.

Not a big deal as one tends to enter the default (i.e English) tracklist first anyway, but just thought I'd point it out.
  #27  
Old Sep 10, 2007, 06:36 AM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Another small thing. Shouldn't 'Edited by' really be 'Last edit by' or something similar?
  #28  
Old Sep 10, 2007, 06:24 PM
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
Secret Squirrel Secret Squirrel is offline
VGMdb Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,927
Default

There are some issues with the tracktimes, and how everything interacts with them. I really need to rethink how we do it.

I could rig tracklists so that we can have double-spaces. (EDIT - Done. Submission of a text block still strips double space, because it really needs to in order to parse. You can edit them back in using the single track edit.)

I don't want to bother with allowing a space at the beginning of the Notes field. Somewhere, we hit diminishing returns.

I could do "last edit by" instead of "Edited by", though I don't personally have a problem with "Edited by." I'll see what some of the rest of you think about that.
  #29  
Old Sep 11, 2007, 09:19 AM
seanne's Avatar
seanne seanne is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post
I could rig tracklists so that we can have double-spaces. (EDIT - Done. Submission of a text block still strips double space, because it really needs to in order to parse. You can edit them back in using the single track edit.)
Thanks, that works great.

Quote:
I don't want to bother with allowing a space at the beginning of the Notes field. Somewhere, we hit diminishing returns.
Alright. Well it shouldn't be a big problem anyway.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGMdb Beta Bug Reports Secret Squirrel Questions and Comments 1094 May 29, 2019 01:17 AM
ALPHA Ramza Album Discussions 0 Feb 22, 2010 07:15 PM
My Submissions (alpha) Gigablah Questions and Comments 5 Dec 7, 2009 02:28 PM
PCCB-00015: Plus Alpha CHz Album Discussions 1 Apr 29, 2008 07:40 AM
VGMdb Alpha Test Secret Squirrel News and Announcements 11 Aug 20, 2007 07:02 PM