VGMdb
Go Back   VGMdb Forums > Discussion > Video Game Music Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Jun 20, 2010, 09:32 AM

Default VGM research

Hi everybody,

New member here! I'm a music student specializing in composition and I'm considering doing my Dissertation on the Evolution and composition Video Game Music. My only problem is finding good reference material at the moment.

I luckily ran into these forums while randomly googleing and, well from reading some of the posts here, you people seem to know quite a bit.

Would anyone here be able point me in the direction of any great sites (ones that would stand academically), books, documentaries, interviews etc. about the Evolution or Composition of Video game music? Just having trouble finding suitable material at the moment!

Cheers,

Velcro!
Old Jun 20, 2010, 03:18 PM

Let me start off by saying that's a ridiculously huge subject for a Dissertation. Obviously you shouldn't let me stop you but do think about that before starting!

The current best academic reference when it comes to game music is 'Game Sound' by Karen Collins. It's basically THE go to book at the very least in Musicology. I'm studying Musicology myself at Stockholm University (Sweden) and will specialize in game music, eventually trying to force some classes into the curriculum of Stockholm University where I'm the teacher. My current research project is a comparative analysis of "town music" in Japanese RPGs from SNES to PS2 and 'Game Sound' served as a great historical overview of game music.