VGMdb
Go Back   VGMdb Forums > Discussion > Miscellaneous Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Aug 4, 2016, 02:22 PM

Default Sample copies are they rarer than retail

Hey I want to know if sample copies of cd's are generally rarer than retails copies at stores?
Old Aug 6, 2016, 11:37 AM

I'm not sure if they're rarer or not (it may depend on the album), but I believe they're usually less valuable in the secondary market.
Old Aug 6, 2016, 12:14 PM

Not always all some copies are only given out in 10 so I think that would be pretty rare.
Old Aug 6, 2016, 09:37 PM

They are 100% less valuable. I've been collecting and buying for 15 years. They leave stickers and stamps which basically "blemish perfection" and people generally don't want this.
Old Feb 1, 2017, 06:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyblunder View Post
They are 100% less valuable. I've been collecting and buying for 15 years. They leave stickers and stamps which basically "blemish perfection" and people generally don't want this.
If they are official, they are at least a little more valuable than the Chinese bootlegs. Bootleg CD's are less valuable.
Old Aug 7, 2016, 08:30 AM

Old Aug 7, 2016, 09:40 AM

OK then, very informative post.
Old Apr 21, 2017, 01:02 AM

Location: Currently Italy (then UK, USA, Japan then Brazil....)

It does depend on the type of collector and the age of the disc. I personally quite like them as they tend to be rarer.

Newer Sample CDs tend to be easier to find, a lot of them go to reviewers and magazines and if they are not reviewed or use tend to get sold cheaply.

Older CDs (80s and early 90s) on the other hand sample copies are much less common as they tended to get binned.

For some CDs it might be the only way you might find a sealed version.

The sticker tends to put over the barcode or somewhere it doesn't cover text so it doesn't ruin it.
Old Apr 21, 2018, 06:33 AM