Go Back   VGMdb Forums > Discussion > Animation Music Discussion > Product (Anime) Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 21, 2021, 11:59 AM
MiniYopExplorer MiniYopExplorer is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: France
Posts: 22

Little Trivias concerning the animation series:

- There were over 33 million Japanese people in front of their TVs to see the 52th and the last episode of the series, aired on December 28th, 1975.

- Hayao Miyazaki worked on the series as an animator (on episode 15, according to AnimeNewsNetwork). Despite considering the audience rating as really high (which was 30,1%, according to Video Research and a survey from the Kanto Area), which is the highest audience rating for a "World Masterpiece Theater" work, the well-known anime director commented on the series as a "work like a garbage".

- There are many differences between the animation series and the original novel of 1872 : from the fact that Nello was not 10 years old (in the series) but 15 years old (in the original novel), to Nello's death that townspeople discovered near noon on Christmas day (or the day after the last episode of the series). The scene where Nello and Patrasche were held by angels to heaven were imagined and directed by Fujio Dokura, the then-president of Calpis, the series sponsor. Dokura was a real Christian and held the idea that "death was not the end, but a triumphal return to heaven".

- Takeo Watanabe, the music director and composer of the series, won the 1975 Nippon Columbia's Golden Hit Award for his composition of the opening theme, "Yoake no Michi", sung by Kumiko Osugi and the Antwerp Children's Chorus.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump