VGMdb
Go Back   VGMdb Forums > Discussion > Video Game Music Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 01:41 PM
sporky sporky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default best way to capture audio directly from a game?

say, a ps3 game, for example
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 02:14 PM
Datschge's Avatar
Datschge Datschge is offline
Trusted Editor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 722
Default

Ripping the audio files.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 02:17 PM
sporky sporky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

I want to record audio from a playthrough
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 06:31 PM
Jedi QuestMaster's Avatar
Jedi QuestMaster Jedi QuestMaster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Default

If you're using a capture card, plugging in the audio jack to that should suffice.

But if you want to record your voice with it, you'll want a mic that's close to your voice but away from the speakers.

But I'm no expert. :/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 08:14 PM
Nisto's Avatar
Nisto Nisto is offline
VGMdb Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,171
Default

I imagine the Digital Out connection on the PS3, connected to a compatible high-end sound card with digital input should be optimal.

EDIT: Oops, thought the Xonar Essence cards had S/PDIF input. Updated.

Last edited by Nisto; Aug 14, 2016 at 09:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 08:23 PM
Jazz Paladin's Avatar
Jazz Paladin Jazz Paladin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Working on 20 Final Fantasy IV Songs
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nisto View Post
I imagine the Digital Out connection on the PS3, connected to S/PDIF on a high-end sound card (such as the Xonar Essence cards by Asus) should be optimal.
Agreed. There will essentially be no loss due to conversion factors.
__________________
Visit Jazz Paladin Productions on Facebook for the latest news on current and future projects!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 14, 2016, 09:32 PM
sporky sporky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

what if I was using a system that only had hdmi out like a retron 5?

Thanks, guys!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Aug 15, 2016, 08:44 AM
Jazz Paladin's Avatar
Jazz Paladin Jazz Paladin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Working on 20 Final Fantasy IV Songs
Posts: 113
Default

There are a few ways to deal with that. There are a few plugs that can split an hdmi signal into different digital mediums like optical.

Check your TV as well perhaps. Mine can take an hdmi signal and spit out a spdif or optical audio signal as well.
__________________
Visit Jazz Paladin Productions on Facebook for the latest news on current and future projects!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game discs that double as CDFS and CD-Audio: should these be posted on VGMdb? Fatbag Video Game Music Discussion 6 Jun 12, 2014 03:49 PM
The Elder Scrolls Adventures: Redguard Original Game Audio Lich King Album Discussions 0 Aug 1, 2013 10:31 PM
Game Discs with Audio Tracks (Okay, this is nitpicking) Jedi QuestMaster Video Game Music Discussion 2 Mar 30, 2010 04:05 PM
Game discs with red book audio Boco Questions and Comments 3 Aug 15, 2009 01:20 PM
Soundtracks directly from the game CD? Barqu3ntine Questions and Comments 30 May 25, 2009 12:06 PM