VGMdb
Go Back   VGMdb Forums > Discussion > Video Game Music Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Jan 31, 2014, 12:43 PM

Smile Advice/resources for a noob?

Hi there

I'm new to writing game music, and I'm stoked - I've previously only written and performed heavy metal (guitar) and solo piano music, but recently I wrote some music for some small game projects of my brother's, and it was really fun and I'm excited to get into it more.

Do you have anything you could share that was useful to you when you started out making VGM? Tutorials, advice on VGM conventions/culture, resources on mixing/mastering for VGM, other sites/communities?

I've been using the software instruments in Logic X, but are there any essential Logic software instrument plugins I should know about?

I searched the forum for this kind of discussion, but didn't find anything -- but if just suck at searching and all this kind of advice is up here somewhere already, let me know!

Thanks guys :)

- flower

PS if you want to check it out, my first wee compositions are up at https://soundcloud.com/marysiaflower -- constructive advice is very welcome

Last edited by Marysia Flower; Jan 31, 2014 at 01:10 PM.
Old Jan 31, 2014, 05:04 PM

Hey, "Nekorush Theme" is surprisingly good! I wasn't expecting to hear something that sounded so polished and authentic. I've listened to it several times now. I think adding extra melody into the sections where it repeats a bunch is the only suggestion I have with that piece. Well, maybe turn up the drums a couple decibels (although it'd actually be better to turn everything but the drums down to have better dynamic range), but strong drums are just a personal preference of mine.